Trackday Time

After a few racing events such as the Oldtimer Grand Prix at the Nürburgring, Marco Werner went on track days. Actually not as interesting as racing events, one might think. But the last few days were tough for a pilot as experienced as Marco Werner.

On 22./23. On August 8th, ChromeCars organized the first trackday in Hockenheim, the “ChromeCars xperience”. And the trackday had a new, unfamiliar concept. Usually only driving road sports cars on track days, ChromeCars offered Tracktime for “super sports cars” such as Porsche, Ferrari and McLaren and Co. alternating with historic racing vehicles. The fans and owners of the sports cars were able to do their laps on the Hockenheim Grand Prix circuit in the same way as the racing cars afterwards.

And there was then again one or the other highlight for the sports car driver to watch that you don’t get to see every day. ChromeCars brought vehicles with history to Hockenheim. «So of course the Porsche fan and driver of a Porsche GT3 road vehicle was enthusiastic about the Porsche 962 in Jägermeister livery and the driver of the Ford GT from 2018 loved the Ford GT40 MK3 from the sixties. “Classik meets modern”, says Marco Werner, “a great concept. Because in addition to your own driving fun, there is a lot to see and you see cars here as you usually only see at some racing events », says the three-time Le Mans winner, who jumped straight into a Lotus Formula 1 from 1976 and created a real sound. Afterwards there was a cozy BBQ in the evening with the participants in the pit lane with real racing flair.

ChromeCars drove from Hockenheim to the Red Bull Ring. There, Marco Werner drove the Ferrari 458 GT3 for ChromeCars at the Ferrari Challenge and GT Days. But not only GT cars competed at the Red Bull Ring. Werner was allowed to take a seat in a Formula 1 again. A 1983 Ferrari 126 C2 owned by Rene Arnoux. “That was an emotional experience,” said Marco Werner with a broad grin, “not many people have ever experienced something like this and that is something very special for me too. Ferrari, that’s always something special, plus a Grand Prix winning vehicle, mega! Back then, as a boy, I dreamed of these cars, now I can drive them, woof!”

Menu

Trackday Time

Nach einigen Rennveranstaltungen wie dem Oldtimer Grand Prix auf dem Nürburgring, ging es für Marco Werner auf Trackdays. Eigentlich eher nicht so interessant wie Rennveranstaltungen, will man meinen. Doch die letzten Tage hatten es auch für einen so erfahrenen Piloten wie Marco Werner in sich.

Am 22./23. August veranstalte ChromeCars in Hockenheim den ersten Trackday, die «ChromeCars xperience». Und der Trackday hatte ein neues ungewohntes Konzept. Fahren auf den Trackdays sonst nur Straßensportwagen, bot ChromeCars Tracktime für «Supersportwagen» wie Porsche, Ferrari und McLaren und Co. im Wechsel mit historischen Rennfahrzeugen. So konnten die Fans und Besitzer der Sportwagen ihre Runden auf dem Hockenheim Grand Prix Kurs genauso drehen wie anschließend die Rennfahrzeuge.

Und da gab es dann wieder für die Sportwagenfahrer das ein oder andere Highlight zu beobachten, welches man nicht alle Tage zu sehen bekommt. ChromeCars brachte Fahrzeuge mit nach Hockenheim, die Geschichte haben. «So war natürlich der Porsche Fan und Fahrer eines Porsche GT3 Straßenfahrzeug begeistert vom Porsche 962 in Jägermeister Lackierung und der Fahrer des Ford GT aus dem Jahre 2018 fand gefallen am Ford GT40 MK3 aus den sechziger Jahren. «Classik meets Modern», meint Marco Werner, «ein tolles Konzept. Denn neben dem eigenen Fahrspaß gibt es eine Menge zu sehen und man sieht hier Autos wie sonst nur auf einigen Rennveranstaltungen» so der dreifache Le Mans Sieger, der sich direkt in einen Lotus Formel 1 aus dem Jahre 1976 schwang und für richtig Sound sorgte. Anschließend gab es ein gemütliches BBQ am Abend mit den Teilnehmern in der Boxengasse bei richtigem Rennflair.

Von Hockenheim ging es mit ChromeCars zum Red Bull Ring. Dort fuhr Marco Werner für ChromeCars den Ferrari 458 GT3 bei den Ferrari Challange und GT Days. Aber nicht nur GT Autos waren am Red Bull Ring am Start. Werner durfte wieder in einem Formel 1 Platz nehmen. Einem Ferrari 126 C2 aus dem Jahre 1983 von Rene Arnoux. «Das war schon ein emotionales Erlebnis» sagte Marco Werner mit einem breiten Grinsen, «sowas haben noch nicht viele Menschen erlebt und das ist auch für mich etwas ganz Besonderes. Ferrari, das ist immer etwas Besonderes, dazu noch ein Grand Prix Siegerfahrzeug, Mega! Damals träumte ich als Bub von diesen Autos, jetzt darf ich sie mal fahren, wau!»

Menü