Goodbye Sir!

Sir Sterling Moss is dead! He died at home on Easter morning in the presence of his wife Susie, at the age of 90 after a long illness. Years ago he plunged into the elevator shaft and seriously injured himself. A breast infection in 2017 also tied him to the hospital bed for nine months. Afterwards he withdrew from the public, was too weak. Before that, he had always been a welcome guest at many oldtimer events and a lot as a Mercedes representative in recent decades.

In the years of his Grand Prix career from 1951 to 1961, he was considered the eternal second because he was Vice World Champion four times! Once he missed the World Cup by one point. In the event of a disqualification of his competitor Mike Hawthorn, he campaigned for him to be allowed to keep his points … campaigned for and his points retention of his World Cup opponent. Without that, he would have been world champion. So he remained in the mind of all fans as the gentleman.

In truth, he was one of the most successful racing drivers for decades! He won a total of 16 Grand Prix on Maserati, Mercedes, Cooper and Lotus. In addition, he won the 1000Km race on the Nürburgring in 1960, he won the legendary “Taga Florio” and “Mille Miglia” in 1955. In April 1962, Moss had a hard time at a Formula 1 race in Goodwood that was not part of the World Championship. A few weeks of coma, severe head injuries, initially a half-sided paralysis ended his successful career. In 1999 he was raised to the nobility by the Queen and was given the suffix «Sir».

He will be missing from the motorsport world! One of the most successful racing drivers in history and, above all, one of the last true gentlemen of this sport went on his last lap. Farewell Sir Sterling Moss!

Menu

Goodbye Sir!

Sir Sterling Moss ist tot! Er verstarb am Ostermorgen zu Hause im Beisein seiner Frau Susie, im Alter von 90 Jahren nach langer Krankheit. Vor Jahren stürzte er im Haus in den Fahrstuhlschacht und verletzte sich schwer. Auch eine Brustinfektion in 2017 fesselte ihn für ein dreiviertel Jahr ans Krankenhausbett. Danach zog er sich aus der Öffentlichkeit zurück, war zu geschwächt. Davor war er in den letzten Jahrzehnten immer ein gern gesehener Gast auf vielen Oldtimer Events und viel als Mercedes Repräsentant unterwegs.

In den Jahren seiner Grand Prix Laufbahn von 1951 bis 1961, galt er als der ewige Zweite, war er doch vier Mal Vize Weltmeister! Einmal verpasste er die WM nur um einen Punkt. Dabei hat er sich bei einer Disqualifikation seines Konkurrenten Mike Hawthorn dafür stark gemacht, daß dieser seine Punkte behalten darf… sich für den und seinen Punktebehalt seines WM Gegners eingesetzt. Ohne das wäre er Weltmeister gewesen. So blieb er allen Fans aber als der Gentlemen im Gedächtnis.

In Wahrheit war er aber über Jahrzehnte einer der erfolgreichsten Rennfahrer überhaupt! Auf Maserati, Mercedes, Cooper und Lotus gewann er insgesamt 16 Grand Prix. Dazu gewann 1960 das 1000Km Rennen auf dem Nürburgring, die legendären Rennen «Taga Florio» und «Mille Miglia» gewann er im Jahre 1955. Im April 1962 erwischte es Moss bei einem zur nicht WM zählenden Formel 1 Rennen in Goodwood schwer. Einige Wochen Koma, schwere Kopfverletzungen, Anfangs eine halbseitige Lähmung beendete seine so doch erfolgreiche Karriere. 1999 wurde er von der Queen in den Adelsstand erhoben und bekam den Namenszusatz «Sir».

Er wird der Motorsportwelt fehlen! Einer der erfolgreichsten Rennfahrer der Geschichte und vor allem einer der letzten wahren Gentlemen dieses Sports ist auf seine Letzte Runde gegangen. Leb wohl Sir Sterling Moss!

Menü